“Two Kinds of People in the World…

…The ones who backup their computers, and the ones who wish they did.”  — My Computer Guy this past Saturday.

I don’t know if it was a particular virus that crashed my system this past week or if my home computer hard drive just gave up the ghost, but I’m just trying not to think about all the wonderful memories that might be forever lost.  All the family pictures especially.  All those hours of patient editing, etc.  Until the Computer Guy says he can’t recover anything, my Wife and I are still holding on to a small chance that he can recover our files.

I thought of those verses this weekend that talk about the danger of storing up our treasures on earth rather than Heaven and that where my treasure is there will my heart be also.  (Matthew 6:19-21)  I suppose the same holds true for the virtual world.  I need to make make sure my priorities are in order.  At least I didn’t lose everything because my home burned down or anything like that, but failure to prepare the possibility of a serious computer system malfunction has been a hard lesson learned. 

The ironic thing is that I thought I was more than protected, but more than one anti-virus program is not generally good for computer systems and may have contributed to the meltdown.  (Another thing I learned from the Computer Guy.)  Oh, well.  We live and we learn, and I for one will never make that mistake again. 

2 comments so far

  1. music2myear on

    Wow, sorry about that Jay. As a computer tech myself I can ditto the technicians remarks.

    Multiple security tools can be good if they are for different purposes. The best security set-up is one each: Firewall, Anti-virus, Anti-spyware/adware.

    The problems come when you have more than one of each of those.

    Anti-virus in particular works by intercepting each request crossing the system and making sure it’s OK before passing it on. When there are multiple anti-virus applications running, they are each trying to intercept each request, but they interpret each others attempts to preempt the other processes as requests and try to intercept them.

    You can probably see the issue here, your system slows incredibly and the real baddies are able to slip through in the confusion.

    That being said, viruses rarely actually delete files and the chance of file recovery, as long as the hard drive itself is physically OK, should be quite high when in the hands of a skilled technician.

    All the best and here’s to a successful repair.

  2. Jay on

    Hey thanks,

    As an update, I can report that a virus was not responsible for my system malfunction. Evidently, my hard drive went bad. It was only 5 years old, but I guess that’s like being 103 in human years or something. Of course, I’ll be sending the old hard drive to some experts to see if they can recover anything, but I’m already using an off-site backup service. Wish I had looked into that service sooner…


Leave a Reply

